How to Reset Vision Pro After Password Lockout?

The most-awaited Apple’s VR device has been released, and we are getting mixed opinions on the device. There are some good things and some bad things about the device. One of the bad things about the Apple Vision Pro is its inability to reset passwords. So, many users wonder how to reset Vision Pro after password lockout.

On the Apple Vision Pro, you can set a 4- or 6-digit passcode, just like on an iPhone or iPad. But what if you forget the password? Is it possible to reset the device? If you also have similar doubts, you are in the right place. In this article, we’ll tell you how to reset Vision Pro after password lockout.

What if I forget my Apple Vision Pro password?

When the Apple Vision Pro was initially launched, there was no provision for recovering or resetting the device’s password. That means, if users forgot their password, they couldn’t simply reset the device settings to recover it. Instead, Apple instructed customers to return the Vision Pro to the company to recover the password or reset the device.

However, this was a great downside, and Apple, soon after its release, acknowledged the issue. In the same month as the device’s release, Apple released a VisionOS 1.0.3 update, incorporating a feature allowing users to reset the headset if they forget the passcode. The reset allows the users to fully wipe their device and start afresh. All the data on the device that is not backed up will be lost.

Now, you have two options if you have forgotten your Apple Vision Pro password. Firstly, you can take the device to the Apple Store, and they will reset the device. Secondly, you can reset the device yourself. Here’s how you can reset your device in case you forgot your password.

How to reset Vision Pro After Password Lockout?

After the VisionOS 1.0.3 update, you can reset your Apple Vision Pro in case you have forgotten your password or have locked the device after many unsuccessful password attempts. Here’s how it’s done:

  • Enter the incorrect password four times.
  • After entering, you’ll see the “Forgot Passcode?” button. Tap on it.
  • Select “Start Apple Vision Pro Reset.”
  • Then, if your device is not connected to Wi-Fi, you’ll receive a prompt to connect to a Wi-Fi network.
  • In the next step, enter your Apple ID password to sign out of your Apple ID.
  • Confirm the decision by tapping “Erase Apple Vision Pro.”
  • Next, remove your Apple Vision Pro from your head.
  • After the device finishes erasing and restarts, put it back on.
  • Follow the on-screen instructions to start setting up VisionOS.

Can you recover the Apple Vision Pro password without resetting it?

Apple is known for its security. And if you could recover the password of any device, what’s the point of setting a password in the first place? The second reason why you can’t recover the password of the device is the lack of a USB-C port in the headset. If it had one, you could’ve connected it to a Mac for the recovery process.

If you are not able to reset the device or you want to save the data on it, you can take the device to the Apple Store. They will help you recover your password.

The Apple Vision Pro is a first-generation device that was recently released. There are many downsides that Apple still needs to address, and a lack of a USB-C port is one of them. Maybe in the future, they will inculcate the port, but for the time being, you only have these two options in case you forget your device password.

Tips to Prevent Future Password Lockouts

Here are some ways to minimize the chances of another Vision Pro password lockout:

  • Choose a Memorable Passcode: Avoid complex passcodes you might easily forget. Find a balance between security and memorability.
  • Consider a Password Manager: Password managers can securely store and remember your passwords across devices.
  • Enable Backup: Regular Vision Pro backups ensure you can recover essential data if something goes wrong.

Frequently asked questions

1. Can I reset my Vision Pro without a Wi-Fi connection?

Unfortunately, no. A Wi-Fi connection is necessary to sign out of your Apple ID during the reset process.

2. Why can’t I see the “Forgot Passcode?” button? 

If this option doesn’t appear, you’ll need to continue entering incorrect passcodes until it does (this is a security feature).

3. Will resetting my Vision Pro affect my subscriptions or app purchases?

No, resetting your Vision Pro will not affect your subscriptions or purchases linked to your Apple ID. Once you sign back in, you’ll regain access to them.

Conclusion

That’s how you can reset the Vision Pro after a password lockout. It’s always better to keep a password that you can remember. And in case you forgot, the only 2 options you have are to either reset the device or take it to the official Apple Store. If you choose to reset it, follow the methods provided in the article. In case of any doubt, do let us know in the comment section below.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *