How to Check iPhone Location History?

iPhones are one of the most used mobile devices in the world. But not many users know the full potential of an iPhone. An iPhone keeps track of your location history. Wherever you are going, it gets saved in the database. But do you know how to check iPhone location history?

Location history helps you know where you were at a particular time. It has other benefits, as it can connect to your health app, providing you with an accurate step measurement. Are you also facing issues knowing your iPhone location history? Don’t worry; we got you covered. In this article, we’ll tell you how to check iPhone location history.

How to Check iPhone location history?

With the help of Bluetooth, Wi-Fi hotspots, GPS, and cell phone towers, your iPhone keeps a record of your location. Certain iPhone users deliberately activate location tracking as a way to recall the places they’ve been to recently. Additionally, this feature proves useful for parents who use it to keep tabs on their children’s locations. Here’s how you can check your iPhone’s location history.

  • First, open the Settings app on your device.
  • Navigate to and select the Privacy option in the settings menu.
  • Look for the Location Services option and tap on it.
  • Scroll down to the bottom and click on System Services.
  • Within System Services, tap on Significant Locations.
  • You’ll be prompted to verify your identity with your fingerprint or password.
  • After that, you’ll be able to view all the locations you’ve recently visited.

On the Significant Locations page, the timestamps for arrival and departure are displayed in the location logs. Choose a city to see the detailed history of your iPhone’s recent locations.

How to disable iPhone location history?

Now many users like to be tracked by Apple. So, they choose to disable the location history on their iPhones. If you also want to disable the feature, here’s how it’s done.

  • Open the Settings app on your iPhone.
  • In the settings app, tap on Privacy>Location Services.
  • In the location services, tap on System Services.
  • You’ll see an option for Significant location. Disable the feature by touching the switch next to it.

If the toggle button turns from green to gray, your iPhone won’t maintain a record. Also, it restricts apps from tracking location history, and you won’t be able to access your iPhone’s location history.

How to delete your iPhone location history?

If you want to disable the location history, you may choose to delete the already saved location history from your iPhone. Here’s how it’s done.

  • Open the Settings app on your iPhone.
  • In the settings menu, tap on Privacy>Location Services>System Services. 
  • On the next page, tap on Significant Location.
  • On the Significant Locations page, at the bottom of the screen, you’ll find an option to clear history. Tap on it.
  • After clearing the history, you won’t be able to see any location history on your iPhone.

how does iPhone location history work?

Many people are unaware that their mobile devices and software not only can access your location but also track and record your location history. Google also has access to your location history, if you opt-in your location history becomes a comprehensive and searchable data file, completely organized by date and time. Apple, on the other hand, offers less detailed information but retains and displays a record of your recently visited places. The location history of Google is more comprehensive than that of Apple.

Both Google and Apple assure users about privacy when providing these history files, and users have the option to opt out or, in Google’s case, erase their location history. These services prove valuable as long as users actively choose to use them. In certain scenarios, location history can be crucial, particularly in legal or rescue situations.

How to use location Services for Family Sharing?

To enable Family Sharing on your iPhone without sharing your account, you can use Location Services. It grants immediate access to your location to your family. This feature is accessible across all your iOS devices. Here’s a step-by-step guide to set up Family Sharing:

  • Open the Settings app on your iPhone.
  • Tap on your name at the upper side of the screen. It will open the Apple ID page.
  • On the Apple ID page, tap on Family Sharing.
  • Next, tap on Location Sharing.
  • On the next page, toggle on the Share My Location feature.
  • Select the names of the family members you want to share your location with.
  • Then tap on Share My Location.

Repeat steps for each person you wish to share your location with. They will receive a message indicating that you’ve shared your location, along with the option for them to reciprocate and share their location with you.

Family Sharing grants access to your location and subscriptions, purchases, and other information. If you wish to stop sharing your location with a family member, simply tap their name, and select “Stop Sharing My Location” to save your preference.

Why is there no location history on my iPhone?

Some iPhone users may encounter difficulties in viewing their location history. This can be because of several reasons. Here are some of the most common reasons.

  • The user is not meeting age requirements.
  • Location History feature not being available in their region.
  • Google account services are being disabled by a group administrator.
  • Location Services are being turned off.

conclusion

That’s how you can change your location history on your iPhone. It is a handy feature that may be very beneficial at many stages. You also have the option to disable the feature by using the above-mentioned steps. In case of any doubt, do let us know in the comment section below.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *